Course templates and the library
Recently we made it possible to move course content into the library when sharing the course as a template. This allows the designer of the course to make updates to a course which is reflected in all courses based on this template.
However, the content was moved to the library the first time a course was based on this template and this caused some confusion. Now, the content is moved into the library as soon as the course is shared as a template.
Note that any content added to the course after it has been shared as a template needs to be added to the Library manually. This allows the course designer to complete the new resource before publishing it.
Other changes to the Library
- It’s now possible to set a readability score – for example Lexile level – as metadata via the ORG API.
- We’ve updated the ‘Recent’ filter in the Library’s ‘Your collection’ to reflect the moment the resource was added to your collection rather than the date it was published. Note that this change will only reflect new resources added after this release.
- The language filter in the library is now translated.
Document viewers and annotations in the new assignment tool
We will now open files that cannot be edited with Office Online in our own document viewer, even if Office Online is enabled for the site. This allows teachers to annotate for example PDF files, that cannot be edited in Office Online.
Uploading and OneDrive
To make file uploading faster, it’s now possible to select multiple files when uploading files from OneDrive.
Courses with content from third parties
Based on feedback from those of you who have your own content development or curriculum department, we’ve made it possible to disable the option ‘Courses with content from third-parties’ on the Add course page. There is no setting for this, but you’re welcome to contact itslearning support and we will disable it for you.
Terms no longer deleted in the assessment record
To prevent assessments in the assessment record from disappearing, terms with assessments connected to them will no longer be deleted if they are no longer provided by the integration (e.g. IMS-E). Instead, they will become archived terms. It’s also possible to manually archive terms, to keep a better overview of active (or ‘current’) terms.